Hat-Trick Hero Naroditsky Secures 19th Title
Naroditsky scored 235 points on his way to a 19th Bullet Brawl title. Image: GMNaroditsky/Twitch.

Hat-Trick Hero Naroditsky Secures 19th Title

| 16 | Chess Event Coverage

In a near-carbon copy of June's earlier editions, GM Daniel Naroditsky scored a dominant 235 points to secure his third straight Bullet Brawl title in the $1,000 event. With 66 wins, four draws, and just 13 losses to his name, Naroditsky finished ahead of prize-winning regulars GMs Oleksandr Bortnyk (223), Andrew Tang (219), and Nihal Sarin (206).

Winning the $100 best women's prize was WGM Aleksandra Maltsevskaya who battled against the usual suspects while DRM_CHAMP3 traded blows with Cesar Frank Talledo Lagos and eventually finished ahead of all 334 players in the community event.

The next Bullet Brawl will commence on Saturday, June 22, 2024, at noon ET/18:00 CEST.


Rank Fed Title Name Username Rating Score
1 GM Daniel Naroditsky DanielNaroditsky 3191 235
2 GM Oleksandr Bortnyk Oleksandr_Bortnyk 3134 223
3 GM Andrew Tang penguingm1 3122 219
4 GM Nihal Sarin nihalsarin 3127 206
5 IM Yoseph Taher yosephtaher 3132 200
6 GM S.L. Narayanan IndianLad 3056 188
7 IM Yaqiz Erdogmus legendisback1 3030 169
8 GM Eric Hansen hansen 3009 159
9 GM Matthias Bluebaum Msb2 3032 148
10 GM Jose Martinez Jospem 3097 147
11 GM Rasumus Svane rasmussvane 2934 136
12 IM Khumoyun Begmaturov KhBegmaturov 2948 133
13 FM Ilan Schnaider IlanSchnaider 2861 132
14 FM Francisco Fiorito Alphafischer2019 2788 123
15 GM Leon Luke Mendonca LionTheLeon_06 2856 115
16 IM Joaquin Fiorito lamoniajunior 2807 110
17 GM Maksim Chigaev Fandorine 2896 107
18 FM Dmitry Goltsev GoltsevDmitry2000 2858 107
19 FM Havard Haug bubeliang 2874 106
20 NM Nicolas_DeLaColina Nicolas De La Colina 2776 103
(Full final standings here)

Naroditsky's recent run of form in Bullet Brawl has been impressive, albeit unsurprisingly; however, in the latest event Naroditsky had to overcome no less than a dozen 3000+ rated players. Among them were former winners Bortnyk, Tang, and Sarin as well as GM Matthias Bluebaum, who boasts a FIDE classical rating of 2647.

A lackluster 3.5/6 start to the event threatened to hinder Naroditsky's hat-trick prospects and despite playing several stunning combinations, the commentator couldn't find his groove. Two brilliant moves weren't enough to topple Maltsevskaya, who notched her third career win in 13 tries against Naroditsky. 

As the saying goes, form is temporary and class is permanent. As the halfway point drew near, a 27-game winning streak by Naroditsky would leave all contenders in his wake.

A section of Naroditsky's 27-game streak.

These games were a motley collection of miniatures, scrambles, and swindles with the only consistent feature being the winner of each game. A game against NM Anant Adury stands as a representative of the chaos that transpired in this period. Forewarning... this game is messy!

Having had his streak snapped by Germany's Bluebaum, Naroditsky entered a two-horse race with Bortnyk and eventually paired against him in what was likely a winner-takes-all encounter.

The former European champion Bluebaum is a dangerous foe in all time controls. Photo: Maria Emelianova/

Playing White, Naroditsky played the English Opening and until move 83, the evaluation bar flatlined. Then, with two seconds on the clock compared to Bortnyk's 10, Naroditsky spotted a problem with Bortnyk's 83...Be2??. A scramble ensued and with 0.3 seconds left, Naroditsky found checkmate.

Adding a 19th title to his Bullet Brawl trophy cabinet has closed the gap between Naroditsky and GM Hikaru Nakamura and extended the lead over Bortnyk. Amazingly, excluding Nakamura, Naroditsky has six more titles than all of the other Bullet Brawl winners combined. 

Naroditsky's 19th title will be added soon.

How to review games?
The games from this week's Bullet Brawl can be found here.

Bullet Brawl is an exciting titled arena that features's top bullet specialists and takes place weekly on Saturdays. The format is a two-hour arena with a 1+0 time control; the prize fund is $1,000.

Much like Titled Tuesday and Arena Kings, Bullet Brawl often features top GMs, including Hikaru Nakamura, Daniel Naroditsky, Andrew Tang, Tuan Minh Le, and many more!

Previous coverage:

More from FM JackRodgers
Yisrael Becomes 1st Female, African-American National Master In U.S.

Yisrael Becomes 1st Female, African-American National Master In U.S.

Naroditsky Wins 21st Brawl, Closes In On Nakamura's All-Time Record

Naroditsky Wins 21st Brawl, Closes In On Nakamura's All-Time Record